Welcome, Spring

10 Apr

We are READY for you.

Last winter worked out because the newborn and I just hibernated for 3 months.  He laid around drinking milk and eating his fist, and we were outright told by the doctor to limit his outside-the-house time because of the flu and whatever other nasty winter bugs were around.  Sure thing.  You don’t need to tell me twice to stay inside when it’s 11 degrees out.

This winter? BLECH.  He was an 11-15 monther on the move.  I worked hard to get him out of the house even if it was just to walk around the grocery store for 40 minutes to buy one sweet potato.  When we were stuck inside, I feel like all I did was utter the same commands to an oblivious audience of one.  Teeth are not for biting/hands are not for hitting/cups are not for throwing/pieces of mulch from someone’s shoe are not for eating/the oven door is not for pull ups/the dog is not for mixed martial arts/da capo al fine.

This morning we made a glorious park trip and I’m reminded how much he needs this kind of time– to run completely free, without me over his shoulder and without gates, walls, and locks blocking his every move.  He was beside himself with joy.

IMG_20140410_103537302
Stay wild, toddlers.

7 Responses to “Welcome, Spring”

  1. Anne April 10, 2014 at 6:18 pm #

    Love it! Freeeeeeeeddddddoooooommmmm

  2. hipsterczar April 10, 2014 at 7:22 pm #

    Yay!

  3. Sasha April 10, 2014 at 7:40 pm #

    Haha, we are the same here. I have lived outside this week!

  4. chaunece April 10, 2014 at 9:14 pm #

    Same story! It looks like you and I have kids the same age. He is like an ANGEL out in public, but once we get back home he’s like the spawn of Chuckie!

  5. Little Miss Menopause April 11, 2014 at 12:19 am #

    You always crack me up with your unique phrasings. Love the photo as well – – so what is grass NOT for?

    • Sarah April 15, 2014 at 2:09 pm #

      Hee…. well, some would say the grass is also not for eating but meh… I don’t enforce that rule too strongly : )

  6. hamidlifewall April 11, 2014 at 11:45 am #

    loved taking my kids to the park, and when they got a little older it tired them out…nap time.

I like to comment comment... I like to comment comment... I like to comment comment... You like to... comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,041 other followers

